Summer Capsule Day Six: Beastie Boys and Reflections

My first ever flight was to Ottawa when I was 15 to visit one of my best friends who had moved in the spring and I can still remember flying stand-by and wearing my band uniform pants, a white 3/4 length pinstriped blouse, clunky black clogs and a black cardigan (again purchased for band). Ottawa was having a heat wave and the moment I got to my friend’s house I had to change into something much cooler!

Despite the fact that I travel two times a year for conferences related to my program, I still feel anxious about what to wear while flying. Two years ago I travelled from coast to coast for a conference. Due to some screw ups and missed connections, when I boarded my last plane from Calgary to Victoria the airline wasn’t sure my luggage had made it from my last flight, but ensured me that they would have my luggage to the Victoria airport by noon the following day. However, I was set to present at 9AM sharp and as my flight touched down (around 1AM) it became clear that I was likely going to have to give my conference paper in my Beastie Boys t-shirt and shiny black leggings — whoops.

O hai academic conference people! Oh, what's that? this? Just my Beastie Boy t-shirt...
O hai academic conference people! Oh, what’s that? this? Just my Beastie Boy t-shirt…

Long story short, my luggage had made it on a different flight that had arrived earlier that evening so I did not have to give my paper in my BB t-shirt, but ever since that flight I’ve started carrying a dress that is easy to scrunch up in my purse, just in case.

Dear West Jet, I love you. What I actually wore to give my presentation
Dear West Jet, I love you. What I actually wore to give my presentation

So, for this latest conference (and every conference since Victoria) I’ve worn my Beastie Boy t-shirt (which I would wear as sleep-wear or casual wear) on my flight over my shiny black leggings (one of my wardrobe staples). This time I packed this dress in my purse:

Fully scrunchable summer dress!
Fully scrunchable summer dress!
Fresh from my flight and ready to conference it up!
Fresh from my flight and ready to conference it up!

I got this Ginger dress from Pseudio last spring and have gotten some great wear out of it. When we landed I popped in my contacts, threw on this dress (sorry I don’t have a full-length picture of either outfit), arrived on campus, registered for the conference, and had lunch with an old colleague. I think it worked great and I certainly felt more comfortable than in my grade 10 band-esque flight outfit. So what do other people do? Change when you land? Wear something that is comfortable but conference appropriate on the flight? What about weather differences?

Finally, a few reflections on my travel capsule. It was a great challenge and I will certainly do it again! However, I realize that I could have pared down the jewellery I brought with me. I think two blazers was the right amount but I definitely kicked myself for not packing a light cardigan like my pink Banana Republic (that I axed the morning of my flight in favour of packing my raincoat — thanks for the reminder mom!).

I wore this dress again yesterday, but this time with the BR cardigan I wish I had brought with me!
I wore this dress again yesterday, but this time with the BR cardigan I wish I had brought with me!

Had I known that the temperature was going drop from the high +20s down to a mere +6 I would have packed a second pair of leggings. Eleven items worked really well for my trip and I only ended up purchasing one item (Joe Fresh butterfly print tank top) while shopping with my sister-in-law. Has anyone else tried a travel capsule? Was there an item that you, like me, kicked yourself for not bringing along?

"There's no place like home!" -- now my shoes need a good cleaning again
“There’s no place like home!” — now my shoes need a good cleaning again

Cheers,

K

2 thoughts on “Summer Capsule Day Six: Beastie Boys and Reflections

Leave a Reply

