Summer Capsule Day Six: Repurposing Favourites

While I was working my way through culling my closet I came across a dress I bought last spring (purchased for the print of course!); however, I have only worn it two or three times (including my birthday dinner) because . . . well, it is so short!

So short!
So short!

I refused to cull it because of the print and I had this idea that I could repurpose it into a tank top. While I have no formal sewing training, I have modified certain items in the past, such as hemming jeans (what else is a girl going to do when she is 5’1″?), shortening straps (ugh, buying up a size to fit my rack but having to shorten straps because I have a short torso), etc.

So, I tried the dress on with two different bottoms: my red pencil skirt and a pair of pants. I marked how long it should be with each of these bottoms, went with the slightly longer of the two, fully marked it up with chalk, cut the fabric (eee!), and then double-hemmed it by hand.

Pinned up (with hemming allowance included)
Pinned up (with hemming allowance included)
The finished product!
The finished product!

I was pretty happy with how it turned out! My next insomnia project is going to be taking my favourite pair of jeans, that got seriously ripped when I fell down a flight of stairs in the winter, and turning them into a pair of longer shorts. Has anyone else tried repurposing or modifying an existing item in order to help it transition more cleanly to their capsule?

Summer Capsule outfit eight! : top refashioned #easel // skirt #alythea // leggings #americanapparel // purse was my mother's
Summer Capsule outfit eight! : top refashioned #easel // skirt #alythea // leggings #americanapparel // purse was my mother’s

Cheers,

K

Leave a Reply

