Mad Men and Pencil Skirts

Summer Capsule Day 15 skirt: alythea sleeveless blouse: Joe Fresh cardigan: Vero Moda shoes: Aldo necklace: Beck&Boosh
Summer Capsule Day 15
skirt: alythea
sleeveless blouse: Joe Fresh
cardigan: Vero Moda
shoes: Aldo
necklace: Beck&Boosh

Today in my Pop Culture class I was teaching Mad Men and while I don’t normally “theme” my outfits to the content of my classes, I was super inspired by @janiebryant and her amazing costume design for the show! Therefore, today I decided to take inspiration from Joan’s red dress in S1E7 “Babylon” (or, you know, any of Joan’s outfits ever!).

joan red dress
“Babylon”, more like “BABE-alon”!
joan pencil skirt
That pencil skirt combo!

Hence, the red pencil skirt I decided to wear today. I used to wear pencil skirts a lot! I had so many different patterns and colours, but when I started the capsule wardrobe process I pared my collection down considerably only keeping my absolute favourites, like this red Alythea one ( also, if you love pencil skirts you should check out @pencilskirtprep on instagram – her pencil skirt collection is amazing)!

I know that I’ve already written about a variation on this outfit when I went downtown dancing at my last conference. For that look I styled the outfit with my favourite Beck&Boosh red rose earrings, popped in my contacts and straightened my hair, and threw on my shiny leggings.

Today, I buttoned the sleeveless blouse all the way and wore my pointy-toe blue suede shoes, decided to wear my Kate Spade cat-eye horn-rim glasses (which are described as “chic and retro” on the site), pulled my hair back, and wore a Beck&Boosh necklace that I bought last week on a whim (oops!). I wore my white Vero Moda cardigan and figured I would show off the tote bag that I use most days for teaching purposes.

Aldo shoes
Blue suede shoes!
necklace
Beck&Boosh jingle necklace

I decided to keep my makeup simple, winged eyeliner and MAC retro ruby woo (I guess the theme was retro).

glasses
Glasses + makeup details

Do any of you take inspiration from television shows, specifically period dramas?

Cheers,

K

Leave a Reply

