Riding the Nautical Trend

Summer Capsule Day 23 skirt: alythea tank: suzy shier blazigan: only shoes: aldo earrings: aldo
Summer Capsule Day 23
skirt: alythea
tank: suzy shier
blazigan: only
shoes: aldo
earrings: aldo

Keeping things short and sweet today I am going to talk about trying summer trends!

I love the nautical trend; maybe because I am a fan of blues and bright red (give me all of the red lipsticks!!), or  maybe because I used to work at a summer athletic club where our logo was a sailboat, either way, I am a fan.

Usually, I just pop in my little steering wheel or sailboat earrings and wear something light and summery, but today I thought I would participate in the #seasonalstaples challenge on instagram and feature a nautical look.

dancing with my pup!
dancing with my pup!

A couple years ago I bought a blue and white striped dress, it had brass button details and I wore it with a red skinny belt. I only wore it once because it was *too much* nautical – I looked like I was trying too hard.

So today I tried to dial back: I wore my favourite red skirt (you may remember it from my “hey I want to be Joan from Mad Men” day), a simple white tank and my fabulous boyfriend-styled blazigan (which I’ve talked about at length, here). 

My hair was post braids curly so I tried to contain it with a bandana, went with cat-eye eyeliner, and bright red lipstick (thank you Kat von D!).

I love Kat von D's lip colour!!
I love Kat von D’s lip colour!!

I wore my steering wheel studs, my favourite silver cuff, my Beck&Boosh necklace and decided to take this envelope-esque clutch for a spin.

Aldo clutch
Aldo clutch
details
details

How do you feel about the nautical trend? Over-rated? Do you incorporate it by including colours, stripes, or small details (jewellery, or rope accessories)?

2 thoughts on “Riding the Nautical Trend

    1. Thanks Karin! I do love that skirt — I’m going to have to keep an eye out for another one in a different colour to add into my fall capsule. I am in fact a PhD candidate in literature and I love it! I am writing on 19th-century vampire literature 🙂 Thanks for the kind words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

