Travel Capsule Take Two! 

Vancouver
Vancouver

to

California!
California!

One of my very first blog posts here at Kala’s Colourful Capsule was about Travel Capsules and boy did I learn some things from my first try.

  1. First of all, while I love packing fancy statement dresses, they don’t have much “re-wear-ability” to them; that is to say, I wore my bright yellow dress on the day that I gave my paper, but then didn’t wear it again for the rest of the week. I have noticed that this is a bit of a problem with my version (dresses not separates) of the capsule wardrobe (which I discuss here!), but the problem is even more glaring in a travel scenario: while I have no problem wearing the same ten dresses  (often!) for a three month period, wearing the same (bright) dress in one week at a conference surrounded by a small group of people is something I am not comfortable with. 
  2. Another problem I encountered on my conference trip to Ottawa was that while the weather said it was going to be warm, it not only rained almost the whole trip (I was glad that I packed my raincoat trench), but the conference presentation rooms were freezing and the closest thing I had to a sweater was my blazigan, which meant that I ended up not wearing my cream Vero Moda blazer in favour of the slightly warmer material of the blazigan (regardless of whether or not it looked good with the rest of my outfit).
  3. Third, I was so focused on the conference aspect of my trip (5 of the 7 days) that I sort of forgot about the down time I had; this lead to me wearing my white Banana Republic dress on a casual shopping trip and my favourite pencil skirt on my Art Gallery adventure. These weren’t bad choices overall, but I would have been more comfortable doing extended walking in both cases had I packed something slightly more casual to wear. 
  4. Finally, I packed lots of accessories because it was the beginning of my summer capsule and I was excited, but I ended up rewearing a couple key pieces and ultimately should have saved that packing space for a casual tee, or other needed piece.

So, for my Travel Capsule to Vancouver, for my second conference of the summer, I decided to pack a few more separates and dresses that could be styled differently to disguise the fact that I packed for a two week trip in one small carry-on bag, as well as more layering and casual choices, opting to leave the majority of my accessories at home.

IMG_2628

To give a short overview, this trip was a business/leisure trip in which I flew Hali -> Van for a five day conference, then Van -> Cali to visit my friend C for a week. Basically, I knew that I was going to need to pack for two very different trips: conference wear and fun, casual wear. So, what did I end up packing?

  1. Pink tropical floral maxi from Only
  2. Turquoise bird-print dress
  3. Grey and white striped midi dress
  4. Red pencil skirt
  5. Joe Fresh butterfly print sleeveless blouse
  6. Floral romper
  7. Modcloth floral maxi 
  8. Sunnydale tank
  9. Old Navy beige and white polka dot shorts
  10. Rainbow cover up
  11. Blue suede shoes
  12. Cream tassel loafers
  13. Black American Apparel leggings
  14. Blue and white pashmina
  15. White Vero Moda cardigan
  16. Thin yellow shirt
  17. Hobbit Breakfast tank
  18. Lulu shorts
  19. Swim suit
  20. Bikini
  21. my trusty Beastie Boys tee

Bam! It may seem like I packed quite a bit more than the eleven items I packed last travel capsule; however, I only packed four more items and made those items last twice as long!

So, I thought I would show a couple of the different ways that I wore each item.

First up is the most worn item that I packed: Pink tropical floral maxi from Only

day one - fresh faced and ready to
day one – fresh faced and ready to “meet and greet” aka the anxiety-inducing portion of the conference
*I remembered how much harder taking photos of my #ootd is when I am away and don't have B to rely on!
*I remembered how much harder taking photos of my #ootd is when I am away and don’t have B to rely on!
Vancouver City
Vancouver City
sans Vero Moda cardigan
Second wear: harbour cruise banquet and post cruise drinks with my Van buddies, sans Vero Moda cardigan
LAX
LAX
After I landed in Cali I showered at C's and then threw on the dress again this time for our shopping excursion in Desert Hills!
After I landed in Cali I showered at C’s and then threw on the dress again this time for our shopping excursion in Desert Hills!
Desert Hills!
Desert Hills!
Final day in Cali! It was the hottest day and we spent the late afternoon in Palm Springs. Hair down again, this time with my brand new Nordstrom hat!
Final day in Cali! It was the hottest day and we spent the late afternoon in Palm Springs. Hair down again, this time with my brand new Nordstrom hat!
Palm Springs
Palm Springs

While I basically styled the outfit the same each of the four times that I wore it (coral lipstick and earrings), it was a great addition to my travel capsule: it travelled well (wash and hang to dry) and transitioned different events (conference meet and greet, conference-end banquet/harbour cruise, California open-air shopping in Desert Hills, and Palm Springs/ Pioneer town touristy day) with ease.

My next most worn item was my grey and white striped midi dress

I apologize for the wonky angle. I wore this dress with coral and silver touches for one of the days of the conference with my cream loafers with tassels
I apologize for the wonky angle. I wore this dress with coral and silver touches for one of the days of the conference with my cream loafers with tassels
Near the end of the conference I re-wore this dress and styled it with my Vero Moda cardigan, blue and grey pashmina, and blue suede shoes!
Near the end of the conference I re-wore this dress and styled it with my Vero Moda cardigan, blue and grey pashmina, and blue suede shoes!
Re-wear #3 -- the sleeves were a little too warm for Cali but I spent most of this day inside an air conditioned house
Re-wear #3 — the sleeves were a little too warm for Cali but I spent most of this day inside an air conditioned house
Coral and silver details!
Coral and silver details!

Again, I kept the styling similar for two of the three wears (coral and silver) but included it as one of the more usual items — because of its neutrality it made an excellent layering option for the chilly conference room days.

A close third would be the Turquoise bird-print dress

Day one of full conferencing! Styled with my Vero Moda cardigan and blue suede shoes :)
Day one of full conferencing! Styled with my Vero Moda cardigan and blue suede shoes 🙂
Turns out the conference rooms are freezing again, so I layered up with my pashmina ft. new Kat von D lipstick *swoon*
Turns out the conference rooms are freezing again, so I layered up with my pashmina ft. new Kat von D lipstick *swoon*
Enjoying some fireworks with my conference pal L! I swapped my contacts out for glasses half-way through the day.
Enjoying some fireworks with my conference pal L! I swapped my contacts out for glasses half-way through the day.
Re-wear #1 -- Vineyards --> Pacific Coast Highway and Fashion Island shopping !
Re-wear #1 — Vineyards –> Pacific Coast Highway and Fashion Island shopping !

11824924_10100658411810199_7626750752757791145_n

Very different makeup/ styling. Lingonberry (BITE) lipstick, pink eyeshadow and statement earrings :)
Very different makeup/ styling. Lingonberry (BITE) lipstick, pink eyeshadow and statement earrings 🙂
Pacific Coast Hwy
Pacific Coast Hwy

Although I only wore it twice, it transitioned from my Gothic literature conference to sunny Cali effortlessly and the colour palette allowed me to style it totally differently for both occassions (Kat von D’s dark, purpley lipstick for the conference and BITE’s lingonberry and floppy hat for California Temecula to Newport Beach, Pacific Coast Hwy roadtrip).

I also ended up purchasing these super cute shorts from JCrew which I wore three times:

Unfortunately, I didn't get a shot of the shorts in this photo -- but I wore them with my Sunnydale tank and the Kat von D lipstick <3
Unfortunately, I didn’t get a shot of the shorts in this photo — but I wore them with my Sunnydale tank and the Kat von D lipstick ❤
Wear #2!
Wear #2!
Golden girl -- this top ended up being a little too fussy for the hot Cali weather
Golden girl — this top ended up being a little too fussy for the hot Cali weather
Morango Valley
Morango Valley

IMG_2616

Close up of my JCrew shorts and Kith top
Close up of my JCrew shorts and Kith top
Redlands, CA
Redlands, CA

Once with my Sunnydale tank for a casual Wild Westy taco run, once with my light yellow top, and once with this amazing top from I purchased at Kith, which really showed off the cool detailing on my bikini while doubling as a coverup. Again, the colours allowed me to style both dark and golden on respective days.

I also wore my two swim suits and beach coverup on repeat!

Funkita suit
Funkita suit
My non-competitive suit
My non-competitive suit
Dreamy poolside views
Dreamy poolside views
Unfortunately I didn't get a shot of the full dress -- but here you can see one of the accessories I wore on repeat in Cali :)
Unfortunately I didn’t get a shot of the full dress — but here you can see one of the accessories I wore on repeat in Cali 🙂

Things that I only wore once included: Joe Fresh butterfly print sleeveless blouse, floral romper (especially once my horrible kidney stones kicked in and I had to go to the washroom every 20 minutes — guys, rompers are hard to get in and out of!), my Modcloth floral maxi (I brought it along for fancy dinner purposes).

Conference paper-giving outfit ft. bold lips and braids
Conference paper-giving outfit ft. bold lips and braids
details
details
This romper was the perfect weight for Cali's temperatures but not super practical for long road trip days
This romper was the perfect weight for Cali’s temperatures but not super practical for long road trip days
Maxi dress #2! Fancy dinner time
Maxi dress #2! Fancy dinner time
Hot pink details ft. my gorgeous pal C!
Hot pink details ft. my gorgeous pal C!

And finally, my travel outfit!

Beastie Boys!
Beastie Boys and me on my way back to Hali before my impromptu trip to the Calgary ER!

Have any of you tried the travel capsule? If so, what have you learned??

Cheers,

K

Leave a Reply

