Dark Lipsticks and Leggings AKA Things I am Loving!

these are a few of my favourite things!
these are a few of my favourite things!

I am going to try to post Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays — I have been finding that keeping this blog helps me actively write. Some days I am only taking notes for my dissertation and my writing gets rusty when I sit down to write a chunk of a chapter a week or so later, so writing about something less complex than my dissertation is a fun way to actively write and edit a little bit every other day. 🙂

So today I simply wanted to talk about some of the accessories and items that I have been wearing a lot so far in my Fall Capsule Wardrobe

Coloured Leggings

I have had wine, purple, and other autumnal red leggings for a couple years but had been so focused on wearing colourful dresses that I was mostly wearing black leggings; however, I have been really digging these coloured leggings and the opportunities they allow (even though I don’t count leggings as items in my capsule and choose to see them more as accessories), 

Patterned autumnal red/burgandy leggings
Patterned autumnal red/burgandy leggings
Leather trimmed, black brocade mini skirt with my deep merlot cable-knit leggings
Leather trimmed, black brocade mini skirt with my deep merlot cable-knit leggings
Sushi Date Outfit boots: steve madden leggings: h&m skirt: suzy shier tank: pseudio blazer: vero moda
Sushi Date Outfit
boots: steve madden
leggings: h&m
skirt: suzy shier
tank: pseudio
blazer: vero moda

Plaid and Floral Patterns

I love love love patterns and right now I’m feeling plaid and fall florals (see more about my new ModCloth dress here)! 

ModCloth dress with my cable-knit leggings
ModCloth dress with my cable-knit leggings

If you’ve been following along with me for awhile you will be aware of my hatred towards pants. But lately I’ve been giving these plaid babies a chance to shine and they are both comfortable and fun which allows to me to dress them up or down in terms of professionalism (an issue that I have recently discussed after reading Floral Manifesto’s great post on the topic!). 

Dressed up my H&M plaid pants with this Blue Sketch top with pearl epaulettes
Dressed up my H&M plaid pants with this Blue Sketch top with pearl epaulettes
Dressed down with my Dalhousie University long sleeve shirt for the Society and Volunteer Expo
Dressed down with my Dalhousie University long sleeve shirt for the Society and Volunteer Expo
Plaid paired with my Sunnydale tank and gold scarf!
Plaid paired with my Sunnydale tank and gold scarf!

Ankle Boots

I can’t stress enough how much I love my purple leather boots– they are certainly a wardrobe workhorse (see my entire post dedicated to them here).

IMG_4846

Dark Lipsticks

Now I am a classic red lipstick lover, but I have been experimenting and have fallen in love with autumnal darks. I have been wearing a lot of Kat Von D, Exorcism, Vampira, and Wolvesmouth, and NARS shades, such as Cruella. 

All the pretty colours ft. my scintillating library books
All the pretty colours ft. my scintillating library books
top to bottom Kat von D Wolvesmouth Kat von D Exorcism Kat von D Vampira NARS Cruella
top to bottom
Kat von D Wolvesmouth
Kat von D Exorcism
Kat von D Vampira
NARS Cruella

Classic Watches

apparently I totally feeling Gryffindor colours!
apparently I am totally feeling Gryffindor colours this fall!

B and I read Harry Potter to each other in the evening and when I read the description of Harry’s 17th birthday watch, coincidentally on my 27th birthday, I started scouring etsy, ebay, etc to find one like it: “Harry sat down, took the square parcel she had indicated, and unwrapped it. Inside was a watch very like the one Mr. and Mrs. Weasley had given Ron for his seventeenth; it was gold, with stars circling around the race instead of hands. ‘It’s traditional to give a wizard a watch when he comes of age,’ said Mrs. Weasley.”

img_4108

tea, HP, and puppies
tea, HP, and puppies

So, what are you all loving this fall?

Cheers,

K

2 thoughts on “Dark Lipsticks and Leggings AKA Things I am Loving!

Leave a Reply

