Wine Reds: AKA My Week of Red

red-wine-color-chart-infographic

I have feelings for the colour red: it is not a crush, or an obsession, but a deep and abiding love.If you’ve check out my Fall Capsule, you’ve probably noticed just how much of my capsule is made up of shades of red. While I love all shades of red (I particularly adore a bright, ruby red!), this week I wanted to focus on some of the darker and lighter hues of the red family that I have been gravitating towards this fall.

I don’t normally participate in #stylechallenges on Instagram because they usually involve items or trends that I can’t accommodate given my limited capsule wardrobe, but last week #hauteinoctober was doing “beautiful burgundy” as their challenge. As I have a tonne of items in this colour family I thought why not, so I wore an outfit featuring burgundy, and then I thought “maybe I’ll wear burgundy (or a shade of red) every single day this week!”  And so, I give you my week of reds.

  1. Ruby: Old Cabernet/ Merlot
boots: naturalizer leggings: h&m dress: pseudio top: forever21
boots: naturalizer
leggings: h&m
dress: pseudio
top: forever21

The day that the style challenge was posted I decided to dive right in! I flung open my closet and pulled out one of the more classic “burgundy” shades that I had — this dress.

IMG_3972

I don’t super love this dress on its own — it doesn’t lay right against my bra, but I love to layer it!

It was a nasty, cold, rainy night and I wanted to be warm but not overheating in the meetings I had to attend, so I decided to pair the dress with a thick sweater-material top and my gray cable-knit tights.

IMG_5287

The meeting I had to attend was an emergency budget meeting, so I didn’t have a lot of time to style this look — I unbraided my hair and threw on some Kat von D “Exorcism” and that’s it! No primer, mascara or anything.

2. Young Cabernet

boots: steve madden leggings: american apparel dress and top: pseudio
boots: steve madden
leggings: american apparel
dress and top: pseudio

I decided that if the sun was going to shine and the skies were going to lighten from the previous rainy night, then I too would lighten the red colour I would wear! I took my pups for a walk before heading to campus to teach and the dress actually held up pretty well to a hike in the park.

ft. Mal and Mo
ft. Mal and Mo

I have had this dress for ages. I bought it on sale at Pseudio because I fell in love with its soft ruffled skirt. I think of the ruffles as the pinkish foamy bubbles that occur when you pour red wine quickly.

Again, this is a dress layered with a top.

IMG_5648 +

this top in black
this top in black

When I had to teach later in the day I threw on my light-weight purple blazer and went with a crown braid and Kat von D’s “Wolvesmouth”
IMG_5473

Just look at those ruffles!

IMG_5475

3. Young Cabernet: Purpley Ruby

boots: steve madden socks: halifax socks leggings: american apparel dress: pseudio top: pseudio
boots: steve madden
socks: halifax socks
leggings: american apparel
dress: pseudio
top: pseudio

I fell back into my dark habit on the third day and went for the deepest red shade (aside from outright purple) that I have: a deep purpley ruby!

I love the leather/pleather detailing on this top and decided that since I had to head to campus it needed a skirt, rather than being worn alone with leggings. Instead of a skirt, I layered it overtop of this dress. I love the light-weight, flowy skirt portion of this dress and keep it in my capsule solely for layering purposes!

IMG_5649

I paired the look went with these adorable socks from Halifax Socks and my favourite Steve Madden boots!

IMG_5696

Look at how cute they look together!
Look at how cute they look together!

I kept my hair down and went with “Exorcism” again for my lips!

IMG_5525

4. Ruby: Old Cabernet/ Merlot

boots: steve madden leggings: joe fresh dress: pseudio top: vero moda
boots: steve madden
leggings: joe fresh
dress: pseudio
top: vero moda necklace: beck and boosh

I wanted to wear the dress from day one again, but this time to let it shine as a dress! I layered, yet again, it with a Vero Moda top.

IMG_5678

I love the skirt of this dress and thought the layering looked pulled together and not messy.

I topped it all off with this lovely necklace from Beck&Boosh!

IMG_6319_2_grande

I went with an unintentional Elsa-esque braid and NARS “Cruella” on my lips.
IMG_5593

5. Young Syrah

boots: steve madden leggings: american apparel skirt: pseudio top: h&m jacket: le chateau bag: fossil
boots: steve madden
leggings: american apparel
skirt: pseudio
top: h&m
jacket: le chateau
bag: fossil

On day five I decided to try to fulfill two separate style challenges: the #hauteinoctober “burgundy” one as well as #seasonalstaples “camel.” Well, I do not own anything near a neutral camel shade, so I decided my leopard-print pencil skirt might qualify as camel.

IMG_5702

+

IMG_5665

It was also the first honest-to-goodness “crisp” and “cool” autumn day! So I got to break out my favourite fall jacket — this leather beauty from Le Chateau, featuring some beautiful braided detailing!

IMG_5644

On Instagram I asked if leopard, burgundy, and black leather too much for one look? Well if it is, then I don’t want to be right!

IMG_5769

I went with two french braids pinned in the back and Kat Von D’s “Vampira“. I also swapped out my favourite black frames for some ruby ones!

IMG_5758

IMG_5743

6. Young Pinot Noir

socks: halifax socks leggings: h&m dress: vintage (70s) cardigan: vero moda scarf: gift
socks: halifax socks
leggings: h&m
dress: vintage (70s)
cardigan: vero moda
scarf: gift

Day six was Thanksgiving! I went out to my folks and since they typically love taking family photos I decided to debut this beautiful vintage find! I love this dress and the belt detail.

IMG_5654

I actually don’t have a tonne to say about this look — I paired it with my neutral Vero Moda sweater and this beautiful Italian scarf that was a gift from one of my close colleagues B!

I kept my makeup super simple as my mom prefers how I look when I don’t wear makeup — I went with a little purpley-pink Clinque eyeshadow and Kat von D’s “Noble“.

IMG_5959

I was really feeling the Raspberry pie colouring!

IMG_6021

7. Young Pinot Noir

boots: steve madden leggings: h&m dress: pseudio hat: nordstrom sunnies: fossil
boots: steve madden
leggings: h&m
dress: pseudio
hat: nordstrom
sunnies: fossil

Thanksgiving day two! This time it was dinner with B’s father. I went with my colour blocked dress and paired it with the cranberry red tights from the day before.

B and I decided to take the pups for a long hike before locking them away and going out to dinner.

chilling with mr. momo
chilling with mr. momo

That is to say, the hat did not appear at dinner, but was purely included in this outfit for sun-related reasons.

but, oh, do I ever love this hat!
but, oh, do I ever love this hat!

My hair is finally long enough to do a full french braid — so I braided my hair and went with NARS “Red Lizard” for dinner.

IMG_6073

BONUS:

I couldn’t stop with the reds when the week ended, so hit my Instagram to find out more about my two latest red looks!

Leave a Reply

