Easy, Glowing, 7-min Makeup and Outfit Roundup


I have been super busy trying to meet a dissertation deadline this week, so I figured I would do a quick Outfit of the Day roundup for the last week and share a makeup tutorial.

Because I spent the majority of the week in bed writing and reading, I only got dressed up three days. I figured I would talk a bit about the style prompts I used as inspiration this week.

Look One: Menswear Inspired


One of the style challenge prompts for this day was Menswear. I love bow ties and knew I wanted to rock this Reign Bow ties floral look (which you can find here). I looked at my collared dress shirts and decided to go with my Gap Oxford. Another one of the prompts was Dare you to Wear It and I wanted to feature layering skills, so I decided to roll and fold my Oxford shirt so it appeared more fitted  over top of an old H&M Barbie-pink dress. I also wanted to highlight my new Rockport Nude Pumps


Look Two: Bring on the Bling and Fancy for No Reason

When I was reading over the prompts I noticed that two separate style challenges included fancy-ness and I decided to interpret that as a blingy statement necklace (this one is Aldo from last season). Because I wasn’t going out on the town, I kept the rest of the outfit fairly casual with this chambray dress from Gap. I started the day out in my pumps (breaking those suckers in!) but switched to my boat shoes after my meetings on campus.


Look Three: Pops of Colour

I love colour, so Pops of Colour was a perfect prompt. In order to keep it a pop and not head-to-toe, I paired this yellow and white striped tee from Banana Republic (similar here) with light-wash denim shorts (Joe Fresh) and my boat shoes again. B and I went to the market and took the pups for a long walk so this casual look suited the day nicely!

Makeup:

I threw on a couple of these looks after swimming in the morning. A woman in the change room complimented me on my makeup (ah, communal mirrors) and said she would never have the time to do that at 8am. I told her that it only takes me, on average, 7 minutes to put it on. She looked skeptical. So, I made a 7-min video in real time that shows you how simple my everyday look really is– and it is glowy and bright!

Check out my video


If you don’t have 7 minutes, or aren’t a video person, I’ve broken down the steps here:

1. Moisturize

Because I swim, my skin is dry! I simply use a moisturizer before adding my makeup.


2. Primer

I use MAC’s primer in Painterly. I swipe it over my my eye lids, use it as concealer under my eyes and on any discolourations, and finally above and below my lips.


3. Define my Brows

I use a double-ended brow tool to first shape and then fill in my brows.



4. Highlight

I use Benefit’s Watt’s Up as an eyeshadow and then highlight my cheekbones, nose, and above and below my lips followed by blending!


5. Rouge those Cheeks

I use a powder blush, Lovecloud, by MAC and add a bit of colour to the apples of my cheeks using a blush brush.


6. Define my Eyeshadow


Sometimes I add a bit more eyeshadow to define my eyes. Here, I use “Sin” and “Virgin” from the Urban Decay Naked palette.

7. Curl those Eyelashes


Simple.

8. Two types of Mascara


I use two types of mascara to get lots of volume: Benefit’s Roller Lash and Maybelline’s Collossal Volume.

9. Exfoliate and Moisturize  Lips


I use a local body scrub and then use Burtt’s Bees lip balm.

10. Line and Colour


I use an invisible lip liner to outline my lips (“No Bleeding Lips”) and then a bright pink (“Ligonberry” by Bite).

Tadaa!

One thought on “Easy, Glowing, 7-min Makeup and Outfit Roundup

Leave a Reply

