10×10 Day One

I decided to start the challenge with one of my favourite black dresses. I picked up this Banana Republic dress with pleather detailing at an Outlet from the clearance rack and haven’t looked back. It has the perfect amount of detailing to look super polished.

Since I was teaching today I decided to go with my polka dot blazer as a second layer (however, it was -24 with windchill in Hali today so I ended up wearing many, many more layers in transit). @whitwears was selling the piece on Instagram and after seeing the whimsical polka dots and heavy black piping on the lapels, I snapped it up! I didn’t wear it much in my Fall Capsule, however, so by including it in my 10×10 challenge I am making a conscious decision to introduce it to a few neutral basics: blazer, meet pleather detailed dress 🙂 

The other look I’m sporting today is a more casual, dissertation writing uniform. I simply subbed out the blazer in place of my new Frank+Oak donegal sweater with suede elbow patches. It is cozy but looks clean and sharp. My lace up leather boots are from Spring and a staple of my Winter Capsule.
I’ve chosen to style this look with gold pieces. I am rocking an awesome steampunk statement necklace by Inspyred Creations, some gold beaded bracelets, my mermaid ring that I picked up from the Black Market in the summer, and my beloved Casio watch. 
Hair and makeup were fairly laid back today with a side pony, gold eyeshadow shades, strong black eyeliner (Kat von D Trooper) and red lipstick (Urban Decay Vice Rocksteady).


Shop the look

Banana Republic dress: Old, but similar pleather detailed dresses can be found here and here

Merona blazer: Old, but similar, whimsical, polka dot blazers can be found here (Madewell) and here (J Crew)

Frank + Oak sweater: New (comes in Navy, Black, and Teal) or find a gorgeous pink blush one here (Ruthie Grace Boutique)

Call it Spring laceup boots: Old, but similar boots can be found here

Inspyred Creations statement necklace: One of a kind, but check out her other work here

Casio watch: Vintage, but similar watches can be found here

Gold triangle earrings: One of a kind gift, but check out some of my similar favourites from Etsy here 

Leave a Reply

