10×10 Day Three

Today I wanted to pair my grey, Vero Moda knit sweater with my Star Wars patterned tights. I love the look of a long, neutral sweater with fun tights, but I have to be honest, I felt deeply uncomfortable and paranoid all day. Tights without a dress or skirt, even if they are of a high quality, thick material make me very aware of both my lymphedema leg and my stomach. I felt bloated this morning and almost switched up my outfits, but because I had planned out my 10 looks for this challenge I decided to just go with it and try to rock the tights.

Yet, I felt like people were staring at my lymphedema leg – like my uneven gait was highlighted by my fun, patterned tights. Without a dress to hit mid thigh or knee, the difference in my leg length and sizes feels more aparent. When I was in my first or second year of undergrad, I used to play this sad, little game where I would wear shorts or a dress without tights and also a low cut top. Being busty, I would walk down the halls of university building and count the number of people whose eyes went to my cleavage instead of my leg. It made me feel powerful, but sad, when I could drag gaze away from my leg. 

Today I was hyper aware of all the downcast eyes; I kept telling myself that they were admiring the supercool Star Wars pattern and not trying to figure out what was wrong with my leg. 

I also tried distracting people with a glittery statement necklace. I decided to play up the burgundy tones in the tights and necklace by pulling my hair back and going with a very bold lipstick (Exorcism by Kat von D). 

Overall, I am happy to be pushing my comfort boundaries and do so very much love these tights ❤️

Shop the look

Teefury TIE fighter leggings

Vero Moda sequinned knit sweater: Old, but find similar here

Envy statement necklace: Old, but find similar here

Kat von D liquid lipstick in Exorcism

Leave a Reply

