10×10 Days Seven & Eight

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve decided to post about two pairs of outfits — this time I’m focusing on days seven and eight which both featured my brocade mini skirt plus a sweater.

Say hello to this little hard-working skirt.


For day seven, I wanted to pair the mini with my thicker, masculine, donegal sweater to play with hard and soft.


I went with my black pleather tights to play up the pleather trim on the skirt and my black lace-up boots.


I kept most of my makeup fairly natural with the exception of my lipstick — here, I went for a bold purple pout.


I kicked up the feminine side a little further by adding these sparkly, floral earrings.


I really loved how this look came together with something as simple as a mini skirt and thick sweater.


I had to teach on day eight, so I went for a more formal version of the mini and sweater by adding into the mix my polka dot blazer.


I had never paired a sweater with a blazer before, but hello new opportunities. My embroidered pug sweater is thin enough that I can wear it under a blazer without it feeling too bulky.

You’ll also note that on day seven I let my sweater fall naturally, but here I tucked it into the skirt which gave me an awesome hour-glass shape.


I like to keep my hair up when I teach because I can come across as too casual and young with loose hair, so I did a crown to side braid into a bun. I also went dark with my lipstick wearing Kat von D’s “Exorcism”. 


I tried to inject a little bit of whimsy by adding more black and white to the mix with these darling panda stud earrings. 🐼 


By day eight I was really pushing myself to be creative and discovered that I love the look of a thin sweater tucked into a mini as well as the sweater with blazer power combo!


So which look wins the mini skirt and sweater combo in your opinion?

Shop the looks

RW&Co Pleather and brocade miniskirt: old, but find similar here  (H&M)

Aldo Floral stud-dangle earrings: old, but find similar here (Aldo)

Kat von D Everlasting liquid lipstick in “Ayesha”

Kat von D Everlasting liquid lipstick in “Exorcism”

Panda stud earrings: old, but check out all of the cute ones on Etsy here 

Leave a Reply

